As tenacious as Tony Stewart is in the cockpit of a racecar, he’s proven equally adept at providing cars and equipment for racing’s dirt-track elite. In November 2000, Stewart formed Tony Stewart Racing (TSR), and since it’s inaugural season in 2001, TSR has earned 27 owner championships – 14 in USAC, nine in the World of Outlaws (WoO) Sprint Car Series and 4 in the All Star Circuit of Champions TQ Midgets Series.

Operating out of a state-of-the-art 25,000- square-foot facility in Brownsburg, Indiana, TSR campaigns a WoO team for ten-time series champion Donny Schatz. Schatz earned TSR’s most recent title when he scored the 2018 WoO Championship with a series-best 22 wins.  One of those wins came in the prestigious Kings Royal event at the legendary Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, which is also owned by Stewart.


Additionally, TSR has 12 Knoxville Nationals championships in the WoO. Danny Lasoski captured victories in the famed winged Sprint Car event in 2001, 2003 and 2004, while Schatz earned Knoxville Nationals wins for TSR in 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017 and 2022.

Breathtaking. That’s the best word to describe what it’s like to drive a Sprint Car.


Eight different drivers have won a WoO Feature while in a TSR owned car. That list includes Donny Schatz, Steve Kinser, Kraig Kinser, Danny Lasoski, Paul McMahan, Tony Stewart and Christopher Bell. As of the completion of the 2022 WoO season, TSR’s WoO win total sits at 321 and counting.

Twelve different drivers have won a USAC National Feature while in a TSR owned car. That list includes Bobby East, Bryan Clauson, Cory Kruseman, Dave Steele, J.J. Yeley, Jason Leffler, Jay Drake, Josh Wise, Kasey Kahne, Levi Jones, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. & Tracy Hines. In total, TSR accumulated 117 USAC National event Feature wins during its time in the series.


USAC Championships
WoO Championships
Knoxville National Wins
Kings Royal Wins

Birthdate: 5/20/71
Years Racing: 40+
Residence: Columbus, IN
Marital Status: Married

Pick a racing series. Choose a style of racecar. Name a venue. Chances are, Tony Stewart has proven victorious – in and out of the drivers seat.

After a 20-year NASCAR driving career, the last 18 of which were spent in the NASCAR Cup Series, Stewart retired from his NASCAR driving duties following the 2016 season to focus on his co-ownership of Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR) with industrialist Gene Haas, and to partake in the kind of open-wheel dirt racing where his path to NASCAR began.

Since first wheeling a go-kart in 1978 at a Westport, Indiana, racetrack, Stewart went on to score 12 driving championships. His most widely-known titles are the three he scored in the NASCAR Cup Series. Stewart earned his first crown in 2002 by beating veteran racer Mark Martin by 38 points, a second in 2005 when he bested Greg Biffle by 35 points and a third in 2011 when he outdueled Carl Edwards by virtue of a tiebreaker. The two ended the season tied in points, but Stewart’s five-win tally trumped Edwards’ lone victory.

Championships begat championships for Stewart. The Columbus, Indiana, native came to NASCAR in 1999 by way of the IndyCar Series, where he was the series champion in 1997. And before he made his mark in Indy cars, Stewart made a name for himself in the rough-and-tumble world of the United States Auto Club (USAC). He has four USAC championships, including what at the time was an unprecedented win of USAC’s “Triple Crown.”

USAC’s top-three national touring divisions are Midget, Sprint and Silver Crown. After winning the Midget title in 1994 and finishing 10th and sixth in the Sprint and Silver Crown divisions, respectively, Stewart went out and set a new standard of excellence in 1995 by winning all three divisions. No driver had ever won the Sprint, Midget and Silver Crown championships – divisions that run three very different types of racecars which compete on both asphalt and dirt – in a single season until Stewart.

A hint of Stewart’s impending success could be seen when he was still a youngster. In 1980 at age 8, Stewart won his first championship – a 4-cycle rookie junior class championship at the Columbus Fairgrounds. Two more karting championships followed, but this time on a national level – the 1983 International Karting Federation Grand National championship and the 1987 World Karting Association National championship.

Throw in a title from the 30-year-old International Race of Champions (IROC) during that series’ final year of operation in 2006, and it’s clear that Stewart is in a league of his own.

He is the first and only driver to win championships in stock cars, Indy cars and open-wheel Midget, Sprint and Silver Crown cars. And his three NASCAR Cup Series championships make him one of just 15 drivers who have scored multiple Cup titles, and only the ninth driver to win three or more championships, joining Richard Petty (seven), Dale Earnhardt (seven), Jimmie Johnson (seven), Jeff Gordon (four), David Pearson (three), Darrell Waltrip (three), Cale Yarborough (three) and Lee Petty (three).

Along the way, Stewart has won some of the biggest races in motorsports. He is a two-time winner of the Brickyard 400 (2005, 2007), a seven-time winner of the season-opening NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway (2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013) and a two-time winner of the famed Chili Bowl, an all-star Midget race at the Tulsa (Okla.) Expo Raceway (2002, 2007). He’s also won such famed USAC races as the Copper World Classic at Phoenix International Raceway (2000), the Turkey Night Grand Prix at Irwindale (Calif.) Speedway (2000) and the 4-Crown Nationals at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio (1995).


Birthdate: 8/10/77
Years Racing: 30+
Residence: Fargo, ND
Team: Tony Stewart Racing

Sprint car champion Donny Schatz never would consider himself a historian, but the accomplishments he’s earned over the past dozen seasons have etched his name in the history books as one of short-track racing’s best.

Schatz, the driver for Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing (TSR), continues to build his legacy while competing in the World of Outlaws (WoO) NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series. The WoO, which started in 1978 to organize the most talented sprint car racers, has tested many competitors throughout the past five decades. Schatz worked tirelessly to reach champion status, earning his stripes as a young rookie and climbing to the top in a sport dominated by iconic figures. The Fargo, North Dakota resident has collected 10 WoO championships in the past 16 years, including a string of five in a row from 2014-18.

In 2018, Schatz capped off his title run as the only driver in the series’ 40-year history to win at least 20 WoO A-Features in six consecutive seasons. Over that six-year span from 2014-18, he collected 147 A-Feature feature wins.

Schatz embarks on his 16th season driving for three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Tony Stewart in 2023. Schatz now has 307 career WoO wins, ranking third all-time.

“I’m really proud to be able to continue to race at the level we do,” Schatz said. “In 2008, we didn’t change our path to the championship. We simply changed the way we got there. When Tony Stewart and Jimmy Carr talked to me a few years ago about driving for TSR, I’m pretty sure the results of those championship seasons are what they had in mind. I know I wanted to keep winning races and, ultimately, championships. Each year, we try to set the bar a little higher. After coming up short in the championship battle, we continued the course and focused on things that would help us be at or near the top of the board every time we got on the track. With a lot of work, we were able to get back on top, and now we’re working to stay here for a long time.”